fbpx
The Tudor Society

Expert Talk – Dr Elizabeth Goldring: Robert Dudley and the world of Elizabethan art

In this month's expert talk, Dr. Elizabeth Goldring from Warwick University talks about the art collection of Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester.

Elizabeth's talk is really interesting and takes us all the way from the reasons Dudley was collecting art, through many of the pieces he had commissioned of himself and Elizabeth I, and even discusses where Dudley displayed all the paintings he owned.

Elizabeth will be joining us for a live chat on Tuesday 14 July 2015 at 10pm UK time. Click here to see the time of the live chat in your timezone, but it works out as 11pm in Central Europe, 5pm in New York, 2pm in Los Angeles and 7am on Friday in Sydney.

There are 6 comments Go To Comment

  1. B /

    As the column has a meaning in the painting and the dog sitting on top as well,what is is indicated by the Weasel/Stoat/ Mink in front of the dog.

    1. < / Post Author

      Hi Bryan,
      Are you able to make the live chat on Tuesday (14th)? You could ask Elizabeth then, I’m sure she’d be happy to answer. If you can’t make it then I could ask her for you.

      1. B /

        PLEASE DO IF YOU WOULD BE SO KIND.I AM UNABLE TO SPEND MUCH TIME ON THE P/C AS 1. I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE HI/FI.2. I HAVE MY WIFE TO TAKE CARE OF,SO HAVE LITTLE TIME TO BROWSE.MANY YHANKS FOR YOU TIME.BRYAN.

        1. < / Post Author

          Hi Bryan,
          I asked Elizabeth for you and she said that it’s probably an ermine and that ermines were a symbol of purity. Sorry to hear that you don’t have much time to browse at the moment and I hope your wife’s doing ok.
          Best Wishes,
          Claire

  2. B /

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR HELP.MY WIFE IS 84 AND I AM 87 WE LOOK AFTER EACH OTHER BUT BEING OLD IS NOT FOR CISSIES.BRYAN.

  3. Pingback: The 400th anniversary of the burial of Nicholas Hilliard, and Hilliard book news! – The Tudor Society /

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Expert Talk – Dr Elizabeth Goldring: Robert Dudley and the world of Elizabethan art